“Mean Girls'” Kate Rockwell to Release Solo Album

Kate Rockwell, who plays Karen Smith in Broadway’s upcoming “Mean Girls” musical, has selected songs from the shows that inspired her to pursue a career on Broadway—including “Jekyll & Hyde,” “Evita,” and “Little Shop of Horrors—for her premiere solo album, according to Playbill.com.

“Kate Rockwell: Back to My Roots,” due to release digitally and in stores on April 27, is currently available for pre-order on Amazon and from BroadwayRecords.com.

Rockwell returns to Broadway this spring to play the intellectually challenged Karen after appearing in such shows as “Legally Blonde,” “Hair,” “Bring It On,” and “Rock of Ages”. Her performance in “Mean Girls”’ Washington D.C. tryout earned Rockwell a Helen Hayes Award nomination. The show begins previews on Broadway March 12, with an opening night set for April 8.

“Back to My Roots” is executive produced by Yael Silver, with producers Michael Croiter, Jason Loffredo, and Showmance Productions. The cover photography is by Curtis & Cort Photography.

Take a look at the track listing:
1. Hey There Good Times
2. Bring On the Men
3. I Know Things Now You Know
4. Buenos Aires
5. What You Don’t Know About Women
6. I’m Breaking Down
7. The Games I Play
8. Song on the Sand
9. Somewhere That’s Green
10. Schoenberg Lloyd Webber (or…Two Composers, One Song)
11. Unexpected Song